Aaj English TV

Tuesday, July 23, 2024  
17 Muharram 1446  

15 British Pakistanis sworn in as new members of UK Parliament alongside UK PM

The newly elected British Justice Minister Shabana Mahmood has also taken oath
Screengrab via Youtube news
Screengrab via Youtube news

The newly elected British Prime Minister, Keir Starmer, and 650 new members of the House of Commons have taken their oath of office, which included 15 British Pakistanis.

The newly elected British Justice Minister, Shabana Mahmood, has also taken the oath of office.

Fazal Khan, Imran Hussain, Raja Yaseen, and Naz Shah are also among those who have taken the oath.

One week after the elections, the first session of the British Parliament was held.

Under Starmer’s leadership, there has been 263 women have been elected to the House of Commons. Newly elected Prime Minister Keir Starmer said that they will continue to serve the people with full enthusiasm and commitment.

In the House of Commons session, Lindsay Hoyle was re-elected as the Speaker without any opposition. The outgoing Prime Minister, Rishi Sunak, congratulated Prime Minister Keir Starmer.

Read more

Profile: Labour leader Keir Starmer, who will be new UK PM

New PM Starmer pledges action not words to fix Britain

Conservatives say Labour rivals heading for record-breaking UK election win

“The 2024 election is a landmark for representation, with record diversity in our parliament, closer than ever to that of the electorate,” British Future director Sunder Katwala said.

“The irony that it coincides with the end of Rishi Sunak’s premiership as the UK’s first British Asian Prime Minister only underlines how ethnic diversity has become a new norm across the main political parties,” Katwala added.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


UK general elections

Oath taking ceremony

kier starmer

new uk government