Aaj English TV

Thursday, June 13, 2024  
07 Dhul-Hijjah 1445  

Ayaz Sadiq among PML-N leaders deprived of party tickets for NA seats

Sources say names for distribution of tickets in 12 out of 14 seats in Lahore shortlisted

The PML-N has deprived many of its top leaders, including Ayaz Sadiq, of party tickets for the National Assembly seats in Lahore, sources said on Thursday.

They added that the N-league has short-listed names for the award of tickets for 12 out of 14 constituencies of the National Assembly in the Punjab capital while Naseer Bhatta and Waheed Alam Khan have failed to convince the party.

Pakistan is scheduled to hold elections on February 8. With the highest number of seats in the lower house of Parliament, Punjab is considered a decider in the country’s politics. The winner from the province has an edge over forming the federal government.

The PML-N has decided to not award party tickets to former NA speaker Sadiq, Rana Mashhood, Marghoob Ahmad, and Rana Mubashir. But it was expected that Sadiq would be offered a ticket in the Senate or any by-election.

Sources added that the PML-N could not decide on a name between Istehkam-i-Pakistan Party President Aleem Khan and the party’s Malik Riaz in NA 117 as the two parties purportedly seek seat adjustment.

PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif would need the support of former PTI leaders Jahangir Khan Tareen and Pervez Khattak to become prime minister for the fourth time in his life, analyst Hamid Mir said in November last year.

“If you [PML-N] have to make a government ever and Nawaz has to become the PM, it will be with the help of Tareen and Khattak,” he said in an interview with Shaukat Piracha on his show Rubaroo which was aired on Aaj News on November 18.

Hamza Shehbaz, Maryam Nawaz, and Sohail Shaukat Butt were among the prominent candidates shortlisted for NA 118, NA 119, and NA 120 seats.

It is expected that Sheikh Rohail Asghar from NA 121, Khawaja Saad Rafique from NA 122, and Shehbaz Sharif from NA 123 would contest the elections. Moreover, Attaullah Tarar is among the possible names for NA 127 where if finalised he would be up against PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

Hafiz Noman and Mehr Ishtiaq Muslim are frontrunners in the race for PML-N’s candidates from NA 128 and NA 129 respectively whereas it was expected that PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif would fight elections from NA 130.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


election 2024