Aaj English TV

Tuesday, June 25, 2024  
18 Dhul-Hijjah 1445  

ICC unveils new format for T20 World Cup 2024

Tournament will be hosted by USA and West Indies
Photo: Reuters
Photo: Reuters

More teams, more matches and more fun, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the new format for the ICC T20 World Cup.

The tournament is scheduled to be played in 2024 and it will be hosted by West Indies and America.

In the next edition 20 teams will be participating and they will be divided into four groups and two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 stage, according to the ICC.

“The 20-team tournament proper in 2024 will work in two phases before the knockouts, though in a different framework from the First Round/Super 12 format at the 2021 and 2022 edition,” the council said.

The Super 8 teams will be divided into two groups. Top two side from each gourp will qualify for the semifinals.

As many as 55 matches will be played in the next T20 World Cup.

The USA and West Indies have qualified on the basis of being hosts, while Pakistan, England, India, and New Zealand have secured a place based on their performance in 2022.

Australia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and South Africa have also qualified on this year’s performance.

“Qualifying as hosts alongside the West Indies, the tournament will be ground-breaking for the USA, hosting their first global event,” the ICC said. “As hosts, the West Indies and the USA take up the first two spots for 2024. From there, performances at the 2022 edition, and the ICC T20I rankings cut-off on November 14, determined the next 10 teams.”

Meanwhile, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have won their places based on ranking, while the other eight teams will be decided according to the results of qualifiers.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.



T20 World Cup