Aaj English TV

Saturday, July 13, 2024  
06 Muharram 1446  

SC swears in 3 new judges, bringing total strength to 17

Justice Qibla Ayaz was sworn in as well

The Supreme Court held a formal ceremony on on Tuesday to swear in new judges elevated from the high courts.

The ceremony was attended by the Supreme Court justices, the Attorney General, law officers, lawyers, and court staff.

The proceedings began with the recitation of verses from the Holy Quran. Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa then administered the oath of office to the incoming judges.

Those taking the oath included Justice Malik Shahzad, Justice Aqeel Abbasi, and Justice Shahid Bilal. This brings the total number of Supreme Court justices to 17.

Parliamentary Committee approves elevation of judges to SC

Additionally, ad-hoc Shariat Appellate Bench Justice Qibla Ayaz also took the oath of office, administered by Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa.

With Justice Qibla Ayaz’s appointment, the Shariat Appellate Bench of the Supreme Court is now fully constituted.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Supreme Court

Judicial Commission of Pakistan