Aaj English TV

Wednesday, May 22, 2024  
13 Dhul-Qadah 1445  

By-elections 2024: Constituencies, candidates and schedule

A total of 239 candidates in the field, two seats already decided
File photo
File photo

By-elections are set to be held on 21 national and provincial seats across Pakistan on April 21. The Election Commission of Pakistan has already appointed returning officers and given them magisterial powers.

According to the schedule issued by ECP, the polling will take place on April 21 and campaign activities will cease by midnight on April 19.

Elections were originally scheduled for 23 constituencies. However, the results of two of those seats, one provincial and one national, have already been announced.

Aseefa Bhutto Zardari was elected unopposed from NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad, while Zubair Ahmad Junejo has been elected from PS-80 Dadu.

However, elections are set to be held on NA-8 Bajaur, where independent candidate Rehan Zeb was shot down a few days before elections. His borhter Mubabark Zeb is vying for the seat as an independent candidate.

Elections are also being held on NA-44 Dera Ismail Khan-I which wa vacated by Ali Amin Gandapur, NA-119 Lahore-III which was vacated by Maryam Nawaz, NA-132 Kasur-II which was vacated by Shehbaz Sharif and NA-196 Kamber Shadadkot-I which was vacated by Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari.

In all, 50 candidates will be contesting the by-elections for the National Assembly’s five seats.

By-polls will also be held on the following provincial consituencies


A total of 23 candidates are contesting the following seats

  • PK-22 Bajaur IV
  • PK-91 Kohat-II


A total of 12 candidates are contesting the following seats

  • PB-20 Khuzdar-II
  • PB-22 Lasbela


A total of 154 candidates will be contesting the following seats

  • PP-22 Chakwal/Talagang
  • PP-32 Gujrat-VI
  • PP-36 Wazirabad-II
  • PP-54 Narowal-I
  • PP-93 Bhakkar-V
  • PP-139 Sheikhupura-IV
  • PP-147 Lahore-III
  • PP-149 Lahore-V
  • PP-158 Lahore-XIV
  • PP-164 Lahore-XX
  • PP-266 RY Khan XII
  • PP-290 DG-Khan-V

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

by election

Election commission of Pakistan