Aaj English TV

Monday, May 20, 2024  
11 Dhul-Qadah 1445  

ECP de-notifies 35 PTI lawmakers as NA speaker accepts resignation

Murad Saeed, Asad Umar, Asad Qaiser, Parvez Khattak, and Sheikh Rashid are among those de-notified

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) denotified on Tuesday another 35 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers after National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf accepted their resignation.

The top electoral body de-notified Murad Saeed, Umar Ayub, Asad Qaiser, Parvez Khattak, Imran Khattak, Shehryar Afridi, Ali Amin Gandapur, and Noorul Haq Qadri after their resignations were accepted.

Apart from this, Ali Nawaz Awan, Asad Umar, Raja Khurram Nawaz, Sadaqat Ali Khan, Ghulam Sarwar, Sheikh Rashid, Sheikh Rashid Shafiq, Mansoor Hayat Khan, Fawad Chaudhry, Hammad Azhar, Sanaullah Mastikhel, Shafqat Mehmood, Aamir Dogar, and Shah Mehmood Qureshi were also de-notified.

The Election Commission also de-notified Zartaj Gul, Faheem Khan, Saifur Rehman, Alamgir Khan, Ali Zaidi, Aftab Siddiqui, Attaullah, Aftab Jahangir, Aslam Khan, Najeeb Haroon and Qasim Suri.

Earlier on April 11, 2022, 123 PTI MNAs had resigned en masse after party Chairman Imran Khan was ousted as the prime minister through a no-confidence motion.

However, NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf directed the assembly secretariat to deal with the resignations of the PTI lawmakers afresh and present them individually before him so that they could be treated as per law.

In July, the resignations of 11 PTI lawmakers had been accepted. The PTI then challenged the move in the Islamabad High Court but the court dismissed the petition and directed the party to resolve the political dispute in the Parliament.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


National Assembly

NA speaker

pti resignations

pti lawmakers

raja pervaiz ashraf