Aaj English TV

Thursday, June 13, 2024  
06 Dhul-Hijjah 1445  

PSL 9: Islamabad United beat Lahore Qalanders by eight wickets

Qalanders had set a target of 196 runs
Photo via X/@thePSLt20
Photo via X/@thePSLt20

Islamabad United thrashed the Lahore Qalanders in the first match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9 at Qaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Saturday.

The United chased the target of 196 with eight balls remaining while losing only their opening pair.

Skipper Shadab Khan played a match-winning inning of 74-not out off 41 balls. Agha Salman made 64 off 31 deliveries helping United win comfortably in the 19th over.

Earlier, the Qalanders set a target of 196 runs in the first match of the PSL.

After being put to bat first, the Qalanders put 195 for five on the board as Sahibzada Farhan and Rassie van der Dussen smashed fifties.

Farhan made 57 off 36 balls while Dussen played a blistering inning of 71 off 41 deliveries.

The Shaheen Shah Afridi-led Qalandars are the defending champions and will look to retain the title.

Lahore Qalandars Playing XI: Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Rassie van der Dussen, Abdullah Shafique, Lorcan Tucker, Salman Fayyaz, David Wiese, Jahandad Khan, Shaheen Afridi (capt), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Islamabad United Playing XI: Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan (capt), Azam Khan, Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Naseem Shah, Ubaid Shah, Tymal Mills

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Lahore Qalandars

Shaheen Shah Afridi

shadab khan

Pakistan Super League

PSL 9th edition