Aaj English TV

Friday, July 19, 2024  
12 Muharram 1446  

Tareen exits politics, Siraj quits as JI chief

Says he will continue to serve Pakistan in private capacity

Just four days after the general election, Jahangir Tareen announced that he will step down as chairman of the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party and leave politics altogether. Jamat-e-Islami Ameer Siraj-ul-Haq also also tendered their resignations as chief of the Jamat-e-Islami. However, Pervez Khattak denied news that he is set to step down from his party.

Tareen’s announcement came through a post on X, four days after he was defeated in the general election.

“I have immense respect for the will of the people of Pakistan. Therefore, I have decided to resign from my position as Chairman IPP and step away from politics altogether,” he wrote.

He also congratulated his opponents on their win and thanked party workers for their support.

“By the Grace of Allah, I will continue to serve my country to the best of my ability in a private capacity,” he wrote.

“May the next few years see Pakistan prosper IA.”

Tareen contested elections from two National Assembly constituencies, NA-149 and NA-155, and was defeated from both.

PTI-backed Amir Dogar was declared the winner from NA-149 while Siddique Baloch won NA-149.

Once a close aide of Imran Khan, Tareen had fallen out with the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf during their government. He had eventually launched his own party, IPP, made up mostly from former PTI faces that had left the party in the aftermath of the May 9.

Siraj steps down as JI chief

Jamat-e-Islami Ameer Siraj-ul-Haq has tendered his resignation over the performance of his party in the general elections.

Siraj-ul-Haq wrote in his resignation that the party had made energetic efforts in the election but results did not materialise.

The JI failed to win a single seat in the National Assembly in the 2024 election, where PTI-backed independent candidates emerged as the bigeest group.

Haq tendered his resignation on Monday, but it was not accepted immediately.

Party sources said that a meeting of the JI’s majlis-e-shoora has been called in lahore on February 17, which will consider whether to accept or reject the resignation.

Haq was first elected as the party Ameer in 2014 and again in 2019 for a five-year term. His term of office was set to end in March 2024.

Pervez Khattak quits as PTI-P chairman

Veteran politican Pervez Khattak also resigned as chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-Parliamentarians on Monday, sources claimed.

His party, made of former PTI members who left the party after May 9, failed to win any National Assembly seats and won two Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seats.

However, Khattak denied the news adding that he was still deliberating over the next action.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Jahangir Tareen

Istehkam e Pakistan Party (IPP)