Aaj English TV

Saturday, July 13, 2024  
06 Muharram 1446  

Rashid Latif explains why Babar refused for ‘test captaincy’, hints group revolts

Babar informed the board that he would prefer to resign from all formats and left the meeting.
Photo Aaj News art
Photo Aaj News art

Rashid Latif, the former Pakistani cricketer, has been vocal about the political interference in Pakistan cricket that has led to three chairmen and five selectors in the past twelve months.

On Wednesday, It was reported that Pakistan cricket team Babar Azam has refused the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) offer of keeping him only as a Test captain.

Babar met with the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee Zaka Ashraf and he was informed that the board desires to keep him as a red-ball captain but he would be replaced as a captain in white-ball cricket.

Babar informed the board that he would prefer to resign from all formats and left the meeting.

Citing the current events Rashid Latif took on X and expressed why Babar refused to take the captaincy of test cricket.

As per his tweet, there seems to be an issue between Babar and some former superstar cricketers in Pakistan.

He blamed rebellions, division, fixing, and group revolts and since 1981 there is a continuous political interference that is ruining Pakistan cricket.

He has given time to time historical facts of division as well as resignations of the PCB chiefs and captain.

  • 1981 Revolt against Javed Miandad
  • 1992 World Cup Champions
  • 1992 Revolt against Imran Khan
  • 1994 Revolt against Wasim Akram
  • 1995 Team Division | Fixing 1995 Salim Malik Sacked
  • 1996 Wasim Akram Sacked
  • 1999 NAB | Justic Qayyum
  • 1999 Fined 5 players 2 life Banned
  • 1999 Wasim Akram Sacked
  • 1999 Presidential Pardon
  • 2003 Waqar Younis Sacked
  • 2003 Rashid Latif Resigned
  • 2007 Inzamam retired
  • 2009 World T20 Champions
  • 2009 Revolt against Younus (Resigned)
  • 2010 Spot fixing (England) 3 Jailed
  • 2011 Shahid Afridi Sacked
  • 2014 Mohamamd Hafeez Resigned
  • 2015 Misbah Retired / Resigned
  • 2015 Moin Khan Resigned as Manager
  • 2016-17 Champions Trophy
  • 2019 Sarfraz Ahmad Sacked
  • 2019 Najam Sethi Resigned
  • 2021 Semi Final T20
  • 2021 Induction of Surrogate (Board)
  • 2021 Ehsan Mani Resigned
  • 2021 Misbah and Waqar Resigned
  • 2022 Final T20 2022 induction of Surrogate (Franchise)
  • 2022 Ramiz Raja Resigned
  • 2022 Wasim Khan Resigned
  • 2022 Mohammad Wasim Sacked
  • 2023 Saqlain Mushtaq Sacked
  • 2023 Najam Sethi Sacked
  • 2023 Banned on Surrogate via MOIB
  • 2023 Inzamam resigned
  • 2023 Babar Azam Resigned
  • 2023 Morne Morkel Resigned
  • 2023 Mickey Sacked as Director of Cricket
  • 2023 Conflict of interest on Top management
  • 2023 Team Split in 2 Groups?

He also hinted at possible grouping and team split in the national cricket team that seemingly became the cause of World Cup failure.

During Babar’s tenure as captain, Pakistan rose to No.1 in the ODI rankings, but there was a sharp decline in the team’s performance before the World Cup in India.

Pakistan’s below-par performance led many former Test cricketers, including Shahid Afridi and Kamran Akmal, criticized Babar’s captaincy.

The Pakistan Cricket Board on Wednesday brought major changes in the team management and captaincy roles.

Pace bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi was named captain of Pakistan’s T20 team after Babar Azam resigned from his captaincy role in all three formats, PCB said in a statement.

Shan Masood was given the role of captain in red ball and will lead the team in the three-match test tour to Australia in December, it added.

He has been appointed captain till the end of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25. Meanwhile, the PCB said that Pakistan’s captain in the ODI format will be announced in due course.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

babar azam

Rashid Latif

Pakistan cricket news

Captain Babar Azam

Pakistan history