Aaj English TV

Tuesday, July 23, 2024  
16 Muharram 1446  

KMC’ reserved seats winners take oath

PPP leading with 155 seats in the city council
KMC’ reserved seats winners take oath
Photo: Screengrab
KMC’ reserved seats winners take oath Photo: Screengrab

The oath-taking ceremony of the successful candidates for reserved seats in the Karachi Municipality Corporation (KMC) was held on Wednesday.

Of the total 121 successful candidates, 118 members took oath while three members could not take their oath owing to absence.

Commissioner Karachi Muhammad Iqbal Memon administered the oath. These members were elected under the Sindh Local Government Act 2013.

The reserved seats were allotted to political parties on the basis of the number of UCs they won in the local government elections held on January 15.

The reserved seats include women, labour, minority, youth, disabled and transgender seats.

These successful candidates, along with the winners of the local government elections, will represent their respective parties in the city council meeting.

After the oath-taking of the members on the reserved seats, PPP is now leading with 155 seats in the city council, followed by JI securing 130 seats while PTI remained the third with 62 seats secured.

The reserved seats of the PPP are 45, JI has 39 seats and PTI has 20 seats in the city council.

The total number of seats in the city council is 371 and the number required to win the mayor’s office is 186 members of the house.

With the current party position, no single party can elect their mayor of Karachi without the help of coalition partners.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.




Murtaza Wahab

Hafiz Naeem ur Rehman

Karachi mayor

Karachi Municipality Corporation