Aaj English TV

Thursday, July 18, 2024  
12 Muharram 1446  

Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament begins tomorrow

Final will be played at State Bank Ground on June 4
Photo: PCB
Photo: PCB

Three teams will compete as Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament will begin in Karachi on Tuesday.

The seven-match tournament will be played in a one-day format at the State Bank Ground in Karachi. The final will be held on 4 June and will be live-streamed on the Pakistan Cricket Board’s official YouTube channel.

The winning side will pocket PKR1 million with the silverware and the runners-up will get PKR500,000. To incentivize and reward the players for impactful performances each player of the match will earn PKR20,000 and the player of the tournament will get PKR50,000.

The tournament will open with Blasters facing Dynamites. Challengers will play their first match on 25 May when they play Blasters. The tournament will be played on a double round robin basis and the two teams finishing on top after the 2 June match will play the final.

Muneeba Ali will captain Blasters, Omaima Sohail will lead Challengers and Dynamites will be led by Sidra Amin.

“This is a new format and provides a fresh start for us. I am hopeful that every player in the side will take responsibility and perform according to the expectations,” Muneeba told PCB. “It is important that we learn from the mistakes that we made in the T20 phase and do better.”

“Our bowlers are in form and the top-order batters have scored runs,” Omaima Sohail said. “We are team that has a solid combination with experienced senior players and talented youngsters. I am hopeful that we will click as a unit and win.”

Sidra Amin said: “The players have been responding well to the demands of the team and I am confident about our chances in this tournament. The results can go any way in cricket, so it is important to remain focused and grab opportunities with both hands. The senior players in the side have stepped up and done well.”

The three teams have been rejigged after the T20 phase of the Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament, to strike the right balance in each side and improve the quality of competition.


Blasters – Muneeba Ali (c), Aleena Shah, Anam Amin, Ayesha Bilal, Ayesha Javed, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Dua Majid, Irum Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Saba Nazir, Saiqa Riaz, Shabnam Hayat (wk), Zaib-un-Nissa and Zunaira Shah

Challengers – Omaima Sohail (c), Amber Kainaat, Areesha Noor, Fareeha Mehmood (wk), Fatima Zehra, Huraina Sajjad, Javeria Khan, Javeria Rauf, Kainat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Masooma Zehra, Noreen Yaqoob, Sadia Iqbal, Saima Malik and Warda Yousaf

Dynamites – Sidra Amin (c), Aima Saleem, Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Fajar Naveed, Fatima Shahid, Ghulam Fatima, Humna Bilal, Khadija Chishti, Laiba Nasir, Maham Manzoor, Nashra Sundhu, Rameen Shamim, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Waheeda Akhtar


23 May – Blasters vs Dynamites, State Bank Ground

25 May –Blasters vs Challengers, State Bank Ground

27 May –Dynamites vs Challengers, State Bank Ground

29 May – Dynamites vs Blasters, State Bank Ground

31 May – Challengers vs Blasters, State Bank Ground

2 June – Challengers vs Dynamites, State Bank Ground

4 June – Final, State Bank Ground

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.




Pakistan Cup