Aaj English TV

Tuesday, July 23, 2024  
16 Muharram 1446  

Uncertainty surrounds PSL8 opening ceremony

Multan was initially scheduled to kick off the tournament on February 13
Photo: FILE
Photo: FILE

With just over a month remaining in the start of Pakistan Super League season eight (PSL8), however the venue to open the T20 competition is yet not finalised.

The six-team tournament will start on February 13 and will be played across four cities – Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi.

However, the venue to kick off Pakistan’s premier T20 league is not finalised yet as organisers are still undecided between Multan and Karachi for the tournament opener.

According to reports, the management is not keen on starting the PSL8 in Multan, instead they want to kick things off in Karachi.

Currently, the National Bank Cricket Arena (NBCA), which is hosting a series between Pakistan and New Zealand, is most likely to host PSL 8’s opener on February 13. Meanwhile, Multan will only get to host round-stage matches.

It is worth mentioning here that the second Test between both sides was also moved to Karachi due to bad weather. This is also one of the key factors in moving the tournament opener to Karachi.

The final schedule of PSL 8 will be announced after the conclusion of the home ODI series against New Zealand.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.






Pakistan Super League