Aaj English TV

Tuesday, May 21, 2024  
12 Dhul-Qadah 1445  

PSL 9: Islamabad defeat Multan Sultans in high-scoring thriller

Rizwan-led Sultans have qualified for the playoffs
Screengrab via Facebook/Pakistan Super League
Screengrab via Facebook/Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United beat Multan Sultan by three wickets in one of the high-scoring thriller of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9 in Rawalpindi on Sunday.

The United chased down the target of 229 on the last ball of the inning. With this victory, they are the third team to qualify for the playoffs.

Colin Munro’s 84 off 40 balls and skipper Shadab Khan’s 54 off 31 deliveries helped set up the United’s chase.

Imad Wasim remained unbeaten on 30 off 13 balls as he finished the game for the United.

Batting first, Usman Khan’s fiery unbeaten ton helped the Sultans post a total of 228 against United in the 27th match of the PSL.

He smashed his second century of the PSL in just 50 balls, hitting 15 fours and three sixes.

United skipper Shadab Khan won the toss and elected to bowl first against Sultans.

The game is a must-win for United who have won four out of their last nine games while one was washed out. They are currently ranked third in the table with nine points.

The Muhammad Rizwan-led Sultans have already qualified for the playoffs with six wins out of their last eight games. They lost twice to Babar Azam’s Peshawar Zalmi who have also qualified to the next stage of the ongoing PSL.

Multan Sultans Playing XI: Mohammad Rizwan (wk) (c), Johnson Charles, Yasir Khan, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Ali.

Islamabad United Playing XI: Colin Munro, Alex Hales, Agha Salman, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Hunain Shah, Naseem Shah, Tymal Mills.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


Multan Sultans

shadab khan

Muhammad Rizwan

Islamabad United

PSL 9th edition