Aaj English TV

Sunday, May 19, 2024  
10 Dhul-Qadah 1445  

Cabinet forms special committee to probe treason case on PTI leadership

Cabinet welcomes SC’s judgment in suo motu case related to ruling by former NA deputy speaker Qasim on no-trust move against Imran Khan
The meeting was headed by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif. Photo: PM House (file)
The meeting was headed by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif. Photo: PM House (file)

Islamabad: The federal cabinet has formed a special committee to probe the treason case against leadership of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, calling the Supreme Court’s ruling on no-trust resolution historic.

A meeting of the Cabinet took place in Islamabad on Friday, during which Pakistan’s current political scenario, country’s agreement with the International Monetary Fund and Supreme Court’s said decision were discussed.

The meeting was headed by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

Later, Minister for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb addressed the media regarding the Cabinet meeting.

She said the Cabinet welcomed the Supreme Court’s detailed judgment in a suo motu case related to the ruling by National Assembly former deputy speaker Qasim Speaker on the no-trust motion against the then premier, Imran Khan.

Before the voting started on the no-confidence motion against Imran in April, Suri dismissed the vote calling it unconstitutional and backed by foreign powers.

The Supreme Court rejected the claims of foreign conspiracy made by PTI, stating courts give rulings on evidence not speculations.

On Friday, Aurangzeb said the committee would give its recommendations on Article 6 of the Constitution in the next meeting.

According to Article 6, the Parliament shall punish the person who is found guilty of high treason.

About the agreement with IMF, Aurangzeb said the former government signed it under tight conditions, putting the country’s reputation at stake.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Supreme Court


federal government

imran khan

no confidence motion